Travel with me : Finland and Estonia

Hey,

I’m Cora. During my Easter break, I had the opportunity to travel to Finland and see some family. It was honestly such a beautiful experience and I would definitely go back again (I really want to go to Lapland). We were there for 5 days with one day spent in Estonia. Here is a breakdown of our trip:

Day 1: London to Helsinki

We had a really early flight, it was at 9 am which we were almost late for (oops). It was a three-hour flight which was EXTREMELY bumpy. I’m really scared of flying and I will not lie that did not help me conquer my fear. As soon as we landed we were greeted by family and taken to their home. It was in a cute town called Espoo, just outside of Helsinki. We spent the rest of the day doing nothing as we faked jetlag. In the evening though, we did visit a nearby shopping mall in Leppävaara.

Day 2: Doing tourist actvities

We spent day two exploring Helsinki and all it had to offer. We visited the harbour, some traditional churches and basically the centre of Helsinki.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset  At the Finnish Evangelical Lutheran cathedral of the Diocese of Helsinki

IMG_4309 Helsinki sea side, Baltic Sea

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset Uspenski Cathedral

Day 3: Cruise to Estonia

My cousins really wanted to go to Tallinn, Estonia, which is just two hours away from Helsinki by boat.  We took a cruise there which was so exciting because I had not been on a cruise since I was about of 12 ( I took the same cruise to Tallinn from Sweden).  We had a few hours to kill before our cruise so we did some more sightseeing before we departed. The sea in the afternoon was so beautiful. It was so beautiful and made me just love travelling even more. We arrived in Tallinn at night and just enjoyed the ship as we were going to sleep on the boat overnight. ( My cousins and I somehow got into an Estonian club).

IMG_4371The Rock Church in Töölö

IMG_4352IMG_4333Exploring Helsinki 

IMG_4380View from the top deck of the cruiseIMG_4385 Tallinn, as we pulled in.

Day 4: Exploring Estonia

Next day we woke up really early to have a McDonald’s Breakfast because my sister and I had never had it. Afterwards we walked around Tallinn old town for a few hours before we had to run back to the cruise so it did not leave us, lol, and sadly had to return to Helsinki.

We had so much fun looking at the ancient buildings but could not do it justice in a few hours. Although it wasn’t my first time in Estonia, I definitely want to learn more about the history and culture.

IMG_4387Tallinn Old Town enterance

IMG_4399IMG_4390Views from the Church at the top of the hill

IMG_4401IMG_4408Cobbled streets

IMG_4402 4IMG_4405 Panoramic views of Estonia

Day 5: Helsinki Islands

On our last day, we were not in any hurry. We visited one of Helsinki’s 300 islands called Suomenlinna. This was a former war fortress, so you can explore the island looking at the caves and the Baltic sea. Plus, some people actually live on the islands, so you can talk to the locals (if you speak Finnish). Afterwards we went back to our home away from home and packed to go back to London the next day.

IMG_4425IMG_4428Glimpses of the Baltic Sea

IMG_4429

This was one of the most beautiful countries I have visited. Although the language made no sense, I laughed and had the best time with family. I cannot wait to return.

Catch you on the flip side,

Cora x.

 

4 thoughts on “Travel with me : Finland and Estonia

  1. Sartenada says:

    Great travel report. There was one sentence, which I did not understand: “you can talk to the locals (if you speak Finnish). “. We in Finland speak many languages. For example, my blog is in English, Spanish, French and Portuguese.

    Happy and safe travels.

    Like

    1. corajanejordonn says:

      Really? When I visited very few people spoke English. Perhaps I didn’t ask if they spoke English. Thanks though.😊

      Like

      1. Sartenada says:

        Yes, nobody never asks us if we speak English or other languages. Especially then if we are senior citizens! We senior citizens speak many languages, the young ones not. It is a sad true nowadays. Sigh. I speak also some German, but not enough to make my blogs in it and also I speak Swedish, but I am not interested to blog in it. Of course, I understand some Italian, because many words are similar in French, Spanish and Portuguese. So, travelling is easy when able to speak with locals.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

